Any tips?

Sasuke199
Sasuke199
11/02/2007 1:25 am
Hi, I am an intermidiate guitarist, but I have a bad problem. I have played for five years, and I still have not learned to use my pinky properly while playing. It's not seriously effecting my playing, it's just inconvinient to use three fingers when playing more advanced solos and things. If anyone could give me a suggestion or tip if you will, on how to be able to use my pinky more often?
# 1

11/02/2007 1:59 am
My advice would be to start doing scales and pull-off and hammer on exercises using your pinky. Nadeau has lots of exercises using your pinky. Gradually, it will start working. Slowly. I worked for me :D

Good Luck
# 2
Kevin Taylor
Guitar Tricks Instructor
Kevin Taylor
Guitar Tricks Instructor
11/02/2007 2:03 am
I've got a couple of suggestions that might help.

One is to learn '3-note per string' scales.

http://guitartricks.com/tutorial.php?input=28

This will force you to use your pinky because there's no way to play them without using your pinky. Plus it will give you more to work with when it comes to improvising solos and expand your thinking a lot more.

Another suggestion is to delve a little into tapping to increase your pinky strength.

http://www.guitartricks.com/lesson.php?input=1873

Most of these exercises involve using your pinky very quickly and repetitively, so you should see a noticeable improvement in a very short period of time.
# 3
Sasuke199
Sasuke199
11/02/2007 2:15 am
Thanks guys, I'll try it.
# 4
Hozzy
Hozzy
11/02/2007 2:57 am
Im finding its hard to use the pinky as well..I usualy just practice going from fret one thru four using each finger on off on off and occasionaly bending the string all the way down from string 6 to string 1 and so on...each string i find has a different strength in the bending so it gives my fingers a work out and finding out what strings bend easier..then i gradualy move all the way down the fret board ending near the pick up...
# 5
looneytunes
looneytunes