Confused beginner

ics1974
ics1974
11/01/2007 4:13 pm
Hi everyone,

I just bought my first guitar about 5 weeks ago and have been using the internet to learn how to play guitar. I have also finished the absolute beginner program on this site. The problem with the internet is there is way too much information and I have no idea where to really start.
My question as a beginner is should I focus my attention right now on skill or theory?

I feel I could do 2 things at this stage.
1. Just start playing the guitar using the chords I already know and tab songs and then learn theory later in a year or two.
Or
2. Start right into music theory, reading standard notation and all that stuff which will take away from the time I have to actually play the guitar.

I guess this all comes down to time. I only have about 30 minutes a day to devote to playing the guitar and I am not sure if I should spend that time on the guitar or in a book.

Thanks
# 1
Kevin Taylor
Guitar Tricks Instructor
Kevin Taylor
Guitar Tricks Instructor
11/01/2007 4:25 pm
You're probably going to get a different answer from everybody. :)

When I first started, I concentrated mostly on learning songs. Just chords at first and then gradually moving into leads. I only learned enough basic theory to get me by. (like what an E chord was)
It depends on your own preference really and what you intend to do once you learn how to play.
If playing in garage bands is your main goal, then learning as many songs and licks and tricks as possible might be the way to go.
If you intend on doing studio work or need to communicate your ideas to other people, or just simply want to be able to sight read.. then starting with theory might be more beneficial.

You could also do a bit of compromising. Spend a month learning songs and leads. Then spend the next month just sticking to theory.
Then go back the month after that and see how the theory applies to the songs you've already learned.
# 2
looneytunes
looneytunes