Recording mic and keyboard

Buoy
Buoy
10/03/2007 1:20 am
Greetings,

I'm going to apologize in advance as I know these are way newbie questions, but I searched around and I'm still not sure if I've got it right. So I appreciate any help.

I have two questions, if anyone can answer one or both, that'd be great!

I'm just getting into recording - have downloaded Reaper and have ordered a 4 track cassette recorder. I think I'll be ok with the guitar and bass, but I want to add vocals, harmonica and keyboard.

Question #1: To record from a microphone (vocals/harmonica), it looks like I need a XLT(?) adapter to go from that three prong microphone thing to a 1/4". Is that right?

Question #2: I have a Privia PX-100 keyboard that only has MIDI and phones output jacks. I read that I can buy an adapter to go to 1/4", but I'm not sure if it's from the MIDI or the phones jack.

Reading around, it seems like I may need something to go between any adapter and the 4 track/computer - like a pre-amp or maybe I can just use one of my amps? Sorry, I guess that's a 3rd question.

I don't know anything about this stuff, just know what I want to do. About to buy some stuff, but have no idea what to buy. Not too worried about the cash if that's a big issue, but I'd rather go cheaper at first to get a feel rather than spend a lot for something I don't neeed.

Any help is sincerely appreciated. Thanks!
# 1
Dr_simon
Guitar Tricks Instructor
Dr_simon
Guitar Tricks Instructor
10/03/2007 7:13 pm
Question 1:

There are a couple of different types of Mic. The two most common are dynamic and condensers. Dynamics dont need power condensers do.

So an adaptor that converts an XLR (3 pronged mic plug) into 1/4 inch will be fine for a dynamic mic providing you run it into a Mic (not a Line) level input. Mics output LowZ signal which is very different to Line level