How can I get back in to guitar?

SophieM
SophieM
09/09/2007 2:54 pm
Ok so about 2 years ago I started guitar. It was going really well I was pretty good. Then I broke my left wrist and couldn't really play but I tried. Bad idea I ended up having my arm in cast for longer. Then I guess I just lost interest on guitar and didn't really practise anymore. i stopped for about a year (including the broken wrist time) and now I'm back and I want to pick it up again. I have been going through my old stuff and I am progressing pretty well...but how do i know when I have covered the basics of what I did then and know I am ready to move on to knew stuff? I am thinking of gertting an acoustic as well...that wouldn;t in anyway stop my progress would it?

Any help/suggestions?
Thanks,
Sophie
# 1
thesharkfactor
thesharkfactor
09/09/2007 6:32 pm
hi there,

i self taught myself the guitar, i have been playing with passion for over 7 years. i have never had a lesson...until i found this place yesterday!..

i found that i progressed very well by learning to play songs that i liked. i bought guitar tab books for oasis and the stereophonics as those were the bands that made me want to pick up and learn the guitar.

i taught myself to read the tablature (which is explained in the front cover of the books) and away i went.. the books had some easy songs and some hard..so it took me a good few years to be able to play them all exactly note for note....some of which i still struggle with and some i still have a few years to practice with..

others my disagree and have a better method of learning, but this is what worked for me..