How hard was it for you?

rhythm
rhythm
06/23/2007 12:02 am
Just curious, how hard do you rank learning guitar in the scheme of things? As hard as learning to drive or get a degree? Was it easy for anybody? :rolleyes:

Compare it to something else in your life and tell us.

For me, and I am just learning, I used to be a proffesional photographer and I can liken it to the difficullty I had going from a regular snapper of photographs to being able to nail proffesional shots and developing my eye.
# 1
hunter60
Humble student
hunter60
Humble student
06/23/2007 12:55 am
That's an interesting question and I suspect that it's going to vary widely depending on many, many factors. For me, it's been difficult but a lot of that has to do with my age when I started (mid-forties) and not really having any musical training on any other instrument. But (and this is BIG) I don't find it impossible because it's something I really, really enjoy. I have always found that enjoying what you're studying makes things much, much easier. You have to have and maintain a certain passion for it.

I've always been told that kids learn things much faster so I would imagine that a lot of the youngsters here on GT will say that it's been a lot easier for them. And then there's the question of how much is a natural ability to learn something quicker than something else. Some folks just have 'it' (whatever that is).
[FONT=Tahoma]"All I can do is be me ... whoever that is". Bob Dylan [/FONT]
# 2
Weslaba
My Baby's a Fender!
Weslaba
My Baby's a Fender!
06/23/2007 1:53 am