View post (Stupid $%#% Windows computers)

View thread

Scotttaylor72
Scotttaylor72
06/15/2007 7:02 pm
Oh boy... I'm going to regret this, but I have 45 minutes to kill at work before I head home for the weekend.

I've stayed out of this one because I'm pretty passionate about the Mac/Wintel wars.

I'll preface any comments by saying "These comments are based on my own personal observations".

My first computer was an Apple IIe. It had no hard drive, but I had two floppy drives... bad ass. First real exposure was Dr J vs Larry Bird. I was in love. Now, 20 years later, I'm an IT manager... and have very strong feelings against Apple. BTW I have two at my house and four at work, so I'm not just spouting off.

I'll try to debunk the popular statements made either in favor of Macs or in discredit to PCs:

Macs don't get viruses: While it's true that Macs get LESS virus attacks than PCs, it's for a good reason: less than 10% of the world uses Macs. Virus writers don't waste their time writing malware for Macs because it's not going to affect enough people. I promise you, if and when Macs become more accepted, you'll see a dramatic increase in viruses/malware.

Macs don't crash as much as PCs. I'm torn on this one, truthfully. Starting with Windows NT, Windows is really a fairly stable operating system. I'll also advise that I'm referring soley to the NTFS based systems and not the 9x/Me crap. A machine running strictly Windows will run just fine. It's not until you start adding all that software to it that it starts having problems.