GT Solo Assignment May '07

magicninja
Guitar Tricks Moderator
magicninja
Guitar Tricks Moderator
04/27/2007 4:01 am
We have another Julian Vickers track this month. :cool: I'm sure he'll be in here shortly with some info for us on how to tackle it. Have fun guys and I hope to see more than 4 people in this month.

Right click the attachment and "Save File As".
Magicninja
Guitar Tricks Moderator

"If it feels right, play it. If it feels wrong, play it fasterā€ - Magicninja
www.GuitarTricks.com - Home of Online Guitar Lessons
# 1
magicninja
Guitar Tricks Moderator
magicninja
Guitar Tricks Moderator
05/02/2007 12:59 am
Open for business.
Magicninja
Guitar Tricks Moderator

# 2
z0s0_jp
Riffologist
z0s0_jp
Riffologist
05/02/2007 1:18 am
I assume Julian will not be participating because it is his song??? :rolleyes:
otherwise I give up. ;)
"Dammit Jim!! I'm a guitarist not a roadie...so haul my gear"
# 3
magicninja
Guitar Tricks Moderator
magicninja
Guitar Tricks Moderator
05/02/2007 2:44 am
Originally Posted by: z0s0_jpI assume Julian will not be participating because it is his song??? :rolleyes:
otherwise I give up. ;)

If that's the case I think you're missing the whole point of these threads z0s0! :(
Magicninja
Guitar Tricks Moderator

# 4
Julian Vickers
Julian Vickers
05/02/2007 3:31 am
Hey there, ok here is the low down on the track:

The chord sequence is very reminiscent of AC/DCs Highway to Hell, and is rather repetitive but there are some variations during the track:

The intro (and end of choruses):

A D/F# G D/F#
A D/F# G D/F# Em D/F# G

The verse (and first part of chorus):

A D/F# G D/F# x 3
E

It's all technically in the key of Dmajor, but the tonal centre is A, which means the main scale to use in your solos would be the A mixolydian (the Dmajor of course also works fine)

The Aminor pentatonic can also work fine when used correctly. Playing the C natural note in the Am pentatonic over the G chord can sound bad though so watch out ;)