Tuning with a Floyd Rose

adar
adar
10/02/2001 7:38 pm
I am not a complete newbie, although you could carry the extent of my guitar skill in a larg-ish thimble, however, I have unbelievable trouble with Floyd Rose trems. I have a Samick Artist series guitar (I believe it is a KR660, although I can't find the info right now) with Floyd Rose Tremelo. I removed all of the strings to replace them instead of swapping them out one at a time (a move which I have since come to regret). Once I put the new strings on, I can't seem to get the thing in tune. I have an electronic tuner, so I did not think this would be difficult, but regardless of whether I start tuning from Low E or High E, when I am done, the strings I started with are now out of tune. I was able to tune using harmonics on the fifth frets, so the notes are in tune relative to each other, but are still much lower than they should be. Does anyone have some helpful hints on how to place new strings on a guitar with a Floyd Rose Trem, and then get it in tune?
# 1
educatedfilm
educatedfilm
10/02/2001 9:07 pm
My guitar has floating bridge... and i can tell you with the aid of an electric tuner it's easy, but requires patients...
All you have to do is tune normally, and once you've finished you'll find that the rest of the strings have gone out (as there's more tension, and the bridge moves). You then have to do this again. And again, and again, and again... it's a pain, but if you imagine the fool who convinced you buying a guitar with such a bridge having their knee caps being shot off it makes it a lot easier...
If you dont have perfect pitch and you try to use relative tunnig, don't bother it's impossible...
hope that's helped... :)
# 2
jarviss
jarviss
10/03/2001 6:02 am
first.....you got all your strings on.....

1st..apply pressure to the wammy bar..so that it's relatively level....(not pushed down or pulled up)...just like if it was in tune..and floating in normal position......