Notation... can someone please explain this to me

musicgu7
Yo mamma is so fat...
musicgu7
Yo mamma is so fat...
02/24/2007 9:39 pm
Hi!

Just learning notation but have run into a slight problem... I though the sharp "#" comes after the note but here (see attached image) I see it before a note... does that not make it a flat instead of a sharp?

(click the above image to see a bigger version of it, as you can see i have copied the image twice, the second is identical except i have highlighted the problem bits/pieces)

The reason i found it a little confusing is that E does not have a sharp.... i figured it means a F sharp but still cant understand why someone would put it before the note instead of after it...

Sorry if my question is too basic, am a total beginner..

Thanks!

EDIT;
And please correct me if I am wrong... the notes are

B----G-A-B-G----A-D-F#-D----G----E-F#-G-D-----C#

right?
- They call it "PMS" because "Mad Cow Disease" was already taken.

- Ah, yes, divorce.., from the Latin word meaning to rip out a man's genitals through his wallet. -- Robin Williams
# 1
magicninja
Guitar Tricks Moderator
magicninja
Guitar Tricks Moderator
02/24/2007 10:13 pm
Those sharps are after the note. :)
Magicninja
Guitar Tricks Moderator

"If it feels right, play it. If it feels wrong, play it faster” - Magicninja
www.GuitarTricks.com - Home of Online Guitar Lessons
# 2
musicgu7
Yo mamma is so fat...
musicgu7
Yo mamma is so fat...
02/24/2007 10:53 pm
The sharp is after E not after F....
or did I get my notation wrong?
- They call it "PMS" because "Mad Cow Disease" was already taken.

- Ah, yes, divorce.., from the Latin word meaning to rip out a man's genitals through his wallet. -- Robin Williams
# 3
R. Shackleferd
Gulf Coaster
R. Shackleferd
Gulf Coaster
02/25/2007 12:14 am
Originally Posted by: musicgu7Hi!