Getting heavy gauge strings up to standard tuning.

Vegas Wierdo
Vegas Wierdo
02/09/2007 9:15 pm
I have (scratch that, had) .012s on my '34 scale hardtail guitar. I had them droptuned down to C#.

Yesterday I attempted to tune it up to standard. Once I got past D... the going got rough.

*BOINK* high E breaks.

So I keep going... and then *KWANCK* there goes the D.

D'oh!!!

And the only set of replacement strings I have handy are .013!

How do you get strings that fat up to standard without them breaking?

I know SRV had .013s on his Strat, but he would tune them flat (half step down) so his fingers wouldn't get all jacked up.
# 1
strat-man
strat-man
02/09/2007 10:31 pm
I'm no expert but it sounds like you may need to adjust the truss rod, this would have/should have been adjusted for your c# tuning to stop the strings goin slack, now when you try to tune to standard the strings are tryin to bow the neck, tooooo muuuuuuuch tensiiioooo 'TWANG!'
Strat totin
Six string slingin
Son of a gun

I met my maker, i made him cry, and on my shoulder he asked me why, his people won't fly thru the storm, i said, listen here man they don't even know your born.

strat-man rocks with vox
# 2
Vegas Wierdo
Vegas Wierdo
02/10/2007 1:02 am
The tension was perfect when they were at C#. Played like butter but with zero flop, and them big bad strings just raaaaang like a piano. I probably shouldn't have messed with it.

Well, I bought some .010s today, so I'll string 'er up with that for now.
# 3
aschleman
aschleman
02/10/2007 2:09 am