G-C-D chord changes

txladykat
txladykat
12/28/2006 5:31 pm
serious beginner here. I have the A-E-D chord changes down, they are easy due to the pivot finger. I have a hard time changing between G-C-D since there is no pivot finger. Any tips?

BTW, I play the chords as follows (the number representing my finger instead of fret for illustration purposes)

G:
_4__________
_1__________

C:
_3__________

D:
_2__________
_3__________
_1__________
DAMAGED ONE
DAMAGED ONE
12/28/2006 6:03 pm
Just practice it will come.
2nd fret G bar cord
_________3__________________
___1________________________
The Mind Is A Terrible Think To Waste.
# 2
aschleman
aschleman
12/28/2006 6:21 pm
More than anything it's a change that requires you to have accuracy and speed with your fingers... Something that can only be gained by practicing. Work on changing from just the G to the D.... just keep doing that over and over... then after a few minutes work on going from the D to the C...... do that over and over... then go C to G.... over and over... then go back and do the G to D... and keep doing that. After awhile your hands are going to get familiar with where they are and where they need to go... It's more of a muscle training excercise... Muscle training is big in sports like baseball and basketball... It's similar to taking 100 free throws a day. After you do it so much your muscles get use to the motion and it makes it almost effortless. It allows you to concentrate on other things without having to worry about bad habits. Just like in sports is all about repitition. Doing something over and over will increase the chances of your muscles getting use to the motion. doing these chord changes over and over may sound boring but it will help. It's all about the final goal. While you're playing these chord changes try to hum some melodies to keep yourself entertained.
# 3
dvenetian
dvenetian
12/28/2006 10:24 pm