Drumming

maestro shaz
maestro shaz
12/20/2006 4:47 am
Hey there...

Anyone got any suggestions on how to create a realistic sounding drum kit??

I use a plug-in which i think is quite good, and I have some realistic drum sounds, with different dynamics etc.

I think it works ok, however something is just not right. I am a drummer myself, I know about dynamics and all that, but it still sounds computerized.

I'd like to know other peoples techniques on how they create their drums....

Please, everyone, I wanna know...

Keep rocking :cool:
[FONT=Verdana]
MuSiC RoCkZz
[/FONT]
My Music
# 1
Kevin Taylor
Guitar Tricks Instructor
Kevin Taylor
Guitar Tricks Instructor
12/20/2006 5:24 am
Get a decent set of drum loop discs and a copy of ReCycle.
They usually provide loops in a series of groups like intros, verses, bridge, fills etc.. plus a set of single shots of each part of the kit.
You use the loops to build a song, then import the single shots into a drum machine like Battery and add your own embellishments.
With ReCycle you'll also be able to edit them and alter the BPM.
You can also collect a bunch of percussion loops or other things like vocals, synths etc...

Like, I did this with a bunch of different drum loops, then used a drum machine to add in the drum rolls.

http://s93744050.onlinehome.us/Orbit_Schmange_320.mp3

... or this kinda thing, using loop collections like 'Sounds of India', 'Voices from the Blackbox' etc...

http://s93744050.onlinehome.us/Maya_Schmange_320.mp3

You can throw stuff like that together in just a coupla hours by grabbing a bunch of random files, loading them into your recording software and playing around with em.
# 2
ren
ren
12/20/2006 9:11 am
I use Reason or Sonar for my drums - I don't use loops at all... but that makes it take a while ( :eek: ).

To make it sound authentic, I move things just off the beat now and again so it doesn't sound so robotic....