Self Taught?

laderswager
laderswager
12/03/2006 11:52 pm
I have ben teaching myself to play Guitar about over a month now. I admit it really hasn't ben the easiest thing in the world. So i have considered reciving lessons. Is it worth it? or should i just keep on the track i am on and try and teach myself?
Ibanez Rg 4 life... Word XD
# 1
hunter60
Humble student
hunter60
Humble student
12/04/2006 12:14 am
Welcome!

I think you'll find mixed thoughts on this from most of the folks here but most will probably tell you that lessons are the way to go. At least at the very start. Learn some good basic skills and then decide a little later on if you want to consider continuing lessons. I am sort of in the same position. Started out with lessons, switched instructors and then sort of dropped the last one too. I've been on my own for about 6 months or more now.

To be honest, I've learned a lot on my own but I know that I'll need to get back to an instructor soon. I have sort of hit a plateau now and I think I need some help to move on to the next level.

Either way, good luck and keep after it. You'll find tremendous help here at GT. A LOT of very knowledable folks here always willing to help!
[FONT=Tahoma]"All I can do is be me ... whoever that is". Bob Dylan [/FONT]
# 2
elklandercc
Full Access
elklandercc
Full Access
12/04/2006 3:02 am
I'm self taught (aside from the lessons I do on gt and any other online site or book) and going on 2 years. I'm happy how I've progressed and keep progressing, but thats me. Everyone is different, and I have no doubts that if I took lessons, I might have gotten farther that I have today. For any beginner, I recommend lessons, tryin never hurts unless your teacher turns out to be Billy Joe Armstrong :rolleyes: . Then again, for beginner lessons, he would do good.
"During this line, the kid acted like he was pushing buttons on a calculator in the air. The kid played ******* air-calculator!"

Myspace
# 3
jeffhx
Disco Bandit
jeffhx