Tone-chambered guitar bodies.

Vegas Wierdo
Vegas Wierdo
11/28/2006 9:07 am
Warmoth offers a "hollow" Strat body, and if I'm not mistaken, the double-cut Les Pauls are "hollow" or "tone chambered." I hear tell it decreases weight and it also enhances tone and sustain.

What about if you like to go back and forth between clean and high gain/distort? I like to be doing weird jazz-type stuff and then *STOMP* launch right into the death grind thrash and then *STOMP* some dirty blues sounding stuff.

A semi-hollow guitar, with F-holes and stuff, is generally a no-go for that... *EEEEEEEEE URRRRRRRRP EEEEEEE KXXKXKXKXXKXXXX EEEEEEEEEE* Not good.

Would the same thing happen with a... tone-chambered guitar? Would you be limited to clean and to not-quite-dirty blues? Or could you cover the same ground as a true solid body?
# 1
ren
ren
11/29/2006 11:44 am
I'm no expert, but I tried out a Tom Anderson drop top strat which is very chambered, and managed to play the usual screaming hi gain with no problems...

Check out my music, video, lessons & backing tracks here![br]https://www.renhimself.com

# 2
aschleman
aschleman
11/29/2006 2:43 pm
The chambering of the body is an option on the Warmoth guitars, if I'm not mistaken... It's not a standard procedure...