acoustic guitar

van2006
van2006
10/26/2006 3:13 am
I posted this yesterday, but it seems the thread disappeared.

I used to have a nylon stringed guitar (cheap kind, but I'm an amateur so it was fine). Pitch-wise, it was low enough to sing along to and if I wanted it higher, I used a capo. I was also able to play/strum chords without a problem.

However, I recently got an acoutic guitar, which the shop tuned for me (don't know how to do it from scratch myself yet). Two things are problematic for me-- the pitch is too high that I have to sing falsetto just to manage. Is there such a thing as tuning it to lower octave/pitch (? if this the right term). But that would mean loosening up the strings a bit, if it's a case of too tightly wound strings, is that alright?

Also, the strings hurt my fingers unbelievably. I have to press REALLY hard to not make the strings vibrate and play correctly, esp the 5th and 6th strings. Too hard that it makes playing almost impossible. Is this because it's steel strings and I sould just get used to it, or a case of the strings wound too tight?

Thanks for any advice. I'm not sure if I should've gotten a classical instead, but the acoustic really has a sound too vibrant too pass up on...
# 1
jeffhx
Disco Bandit
jeffhx
Disco Bandit
10/26/2006 10:28 am
it all takes getting used to the strings...yes u can tune it lower...keep practising and ull build calluses...soon youd be skating thru the strings like ice
[FONT=Impact]grooviest tunes ever [/FONT]
# 2
Julian Vickers
Julian Vickers
10/26/2006 9:30 pm
yeah I replied to this but the thread got deleted for some reason.

Steel strings are harder to play than nylon strings. They are under more tension which makes them harder to press down and they will hurt your fingers more at first.