Frustrated...

lyricchic
lyricchic
10/19/2006 6:25 pm
Hey, well guys, I've been playing for close to two years, (playing being a relative term, I haven't have much spare time for the last six months or so...), and I've sort of hit a wall. If I'm given a piece of sheet music and a night to go over it, I can play quite well, but there's so much I can't do, such as hearing a song and being able to play it, that keeps me from being able to really play. I know amazing musicians who taught themselves to play, but I'm lost. Does anyone have any drills, books, or advice on how y'all learned to play so well?
Don't worry. I shred.
# 1
polansky
polansky
10/19/2006 10:05 pm
Originally Posted by: lyricchicHey, well guys, I've been playing for close to two years, (playing being a relative term, I haven't have much spare time for the last six months or so...), and I've sort of hit a wall. If I'm given a piece of sheet music and a night to go over it, I can play quite well, but there's so much I can't do, such as hearing a song and being able to play it, that keeps me from being able to really play. I know amazing musicians who taught themselves to play, but I'm lost. Does anyone have any drills, books, or advice on how y'all learned to play so well?

I have the same exact time playing, felt frustrated no long time ago, the quitting kind of frustration. Still having trouble with my development cause I work all day and play like from 12 to 2 in the night, I know it's gonna take a lot of time doing it this way (damn i got 3 guitars 2 at home and one at the office) but still can't manage time to sit and really set up goals.