DigiTech RP50 Modeling Guitar Processor

Tekime
Tekime
10/01/2006 2:46 am
DigiTech RP50 Modeling Guitar Processor

This is my first review of a multi-effects processor, the first multi-effects processor I have ever purchased, and I am an amateur guitarist. Many of the people looking at a budget processor are probably in the same shoes, so here goes.

Retail Price: $99.95
Street Price: $59.95

Pros
  • Lots of extra features

• Very affordable

Cons
  • All plastic assembly

• Non-editable drum patterns

• Simple LCD display

Review

An affordable multi-effects processor with many features and effects. A flexible unit for the budget amateur or intermediate guitarist.

Summary

The DigiTech RP50 is a guitar tone and effects processor with a built-in drum machine, chromatic tuner, expression pedal input, and more. It is feature packed with a low price for the budget guitarist.

I purchased the RP50 at a local shop for about $47. A multi-effects processor like this is perfect for someone like me - an amateur guitarist with a low budget demanding tons of features. This unit lets you manage up to 40 user presets, with 40 more factory presets locked in memory, for a total of 80 effects selected with two pedals. The RP50 allows for ten simultaneous effects from a total of almost 30:

* Pickup Simulator
* Compressor
* Wah
* Amp Modeling
* Cabinet Modeling
* 3-band EQ
* Noise Gate
* Auto Swell
* Chorus
* Flanger
* Phaser
* Tremolo
* Panner
* Vibrato
* Rotary Speaker
* Auto Ya
* Envelope Filter
* Detune
* Pitch Shift
* Whammy
* Digital Delay
* Analog Delay
* Ping Pong Delay
* 6 Different Reverbs

So you can really pump out a lot of wicked sounds from this device.

The RP50 also has a chromatic tuner, a drum "machine" with 30 preset patterns, tempo, and volume control, and battery or AC power to suit your needs. The addition of an expression pedal input lets you add a passive volume pedal to manipulate control whammy, wah, and volume.