Wolfmother

acapella
acapella
09/13/2006 3:44 pm
I just got the new CD, and on the first listen I must say it's pretty awesome. It's like a combination of earlier rock (Black Sabbath, Led Zeppelin) and heavily influenced by the White Stripes. I especially like the jazz flute solo in Witchcraft. Anybody else have it? Opinions?
You go outside and practice screaming. We'll play music while you're gone.
# 1
z0s0_jp
Riffologist
z0s0_jp
Riffologist
09/13/2006 4:00 pm
i think they sound alright.....better than alot crud that is out there...i saw a live show of them on t.v. and they really sucked......sloppy as hell.......the studio definately helped them
"Dammit Jim!! I'm a guitarist not a roadie...so haul my gear"
# 2
acapella
acapella
09/13/2006 4:21 pm
Yeah, Brendon mentioned that. He said they played that song "Apple Tree", and it was awful. I don't know if it was meant to be, but I find it hilarious. I think my favourite song is probably "Joker and the Thief", because it's the one I listen to constantly.
# 3
jiujitsu_jesus
jiujitsu_jesus
09/14/2006 12:17 am
I love Wolfmother, great band. There are quite a few bands around trying to make it with the Zeppelin-Floyd-Sabbath mashup approach, but I think they're the best at it. My favourite tracks on the album are "Where Eagles Have Been" and "Colossal". Hopefully, they will continue to grow creatively; it would be a shame if their next album was just a rehash, or worse, a shameless pitch to the indie-pop crowd.
"It's all folk music... I ain't never heard no horse sing!"
- Attributed variously to Leadbelly and Louis Armstrong

If at first you don't succeed, you are obviously not Chuck Norris.

l337iZmz r@wk o.K!!!??>
# 4
thebluesbreaker
thebluesbreaker
09/15/2006 1:37 pm
hey, i've seen footage of them live at the big day out and they weren't bad. They are good for a modern band? Did anyone mention Deep Purple as an influence for them.