Battery users please help!

PRSplaya
Full Access
PRSplaya
Full Access
05/04/2006 1:12 pm
My guitarist and I are getting ready to record an acoustic version of an original of his. The problem is, I need to make a drum track, but I completely suck at arranging drums. If anybody uses Battery to make their drum tracks, and wouldn't mind helping me out a bit, I'd sure appreciate it. Feel free to reply here, send me a PM, or message me on msn messenger.
[FONT=Palatino Linotype]Tonja Renee's personal instructor[/FONT]

>HERE'S WHERE I AM NOW<
# 1
Kevin Taylor
Guitar Tricks Instructor
Kevin Taylor
Guitar Tricks Instructor
05/04/2006 2:12 pm
Ya.. I can help.
Do ya have any midi drum files you can work with or are you starting right from scratch?
# 2
PRSplaya
Full Access
PRSplaya
Full Access
05/04/2006 2:40 pm
Right from scratch. All I have to go by is the original recording of the song. I'm still kinda new to the midi thing, but I do know how to set up a midi track, and use the "piano roll view" to map out the drums.

>HERE'S WHERE I AM NOW<
# 3
Kevin Taylor
Guitar Tricks Instructor
Kevin Taylor
Guitar Tricks Instructor
05/04/2006 3:43 pm
hmm.. that might make things a little tough.
This is gonna be real tough to explain too.

Basically the way I go about doing drum tracks from scratch is to first get a visual idea of what the song looks like on paper. In other words, divide the song up into:
Intro/Verse 1/Verse 2/Chorus/Verse 3/Chorus/Bridge/Chorus/Repeat

Then map out what bar each section starts on. That way, if I want to edit a particular part of the song, I can just refer to my notes.

Next is to find the right kit to load up into Battery and then figure out what keys on the keyboard trigger specific parts of the kit. (basically using masking tape above the keys, I'll write in what each key plays.. snare/kick/hihat etc...