coming up with music

srpianojrguitar
srpianojrguitar
04/09/2006 5:42 pm
ok. i have to say something. I suck at guitar. probably cuz i ve ben plyin the piano too long. but ive figured out something. I can play the piano pretty good, but im not really good at writing music for it. not true for the guitar. a lot of the times, i have no idea of what im playin on the guitar, so i just play random stuff until i hear what i like. Then i try to add to it. I then take the notes, and play them on the piano, and turn the one note notes ive been playin into chords, and then i play those on the guitar. I was wondering. is that how anyone else writes music? or r u guys just really good at that sort of thing.
You come into this world naked, you leave this world naked

-You dont leave the world naked

You do if you plan it right

HEYYY AQUAALUNNGGGGG!
# 1
quickfingers
quickfingers
04/09/2006 9:47 pm
songwriting is a big deal to me. because im in a ska band with horns and whatnot, and im usually the one writing the various riffs and runs in our songs, i have to think of more universal melodies rather than just on guitar. alot of great songwriters have used piano as their inspiration to write peices on guitar. i mean, a guitar is essentially a rudimental piano, with alot more nuances and imperfections than a piano (not necesarilly a bad thing). i personally suck at playing the piano, but youve got a leg up on many guitarists if you are a good pianist. understanding simple things like adding 6ths to your major scale run is much more difficult to understand and comprehend on a guitar as opposed to a piano, were youre looking directly at a string of repetitions up the keys. bla bla bla, long story short, good for you. no, its not a bad thing that you write music like that; it could only be more benificial.
"the more you know, the less you know. I don't feel like i know shit anymore, but i love it."
-Mike Stern

PERSONAL WANKAGE
# 2
Kole_Music
Kole_Music
04/09/2006 10:03 pm