Skill levels?

jiujitsu_jesus
jiujitsu_jesus
04/08/2006 8:09 am
Hey everyone, I've got a little question about joining a band. I've reached a stage where I'm getting bored of jamming by myself, and I'd like to join a band, but I don't know whether my skills are sufficient. I've been playing for seven months, and my teacher says that I'm "exceptionally good" for my level of experience; but I really don't think I'm good enough to cut it with other players my age (17).

So, to those of you who are in a band - could you please give me an indication of roughly what skill level you were at when you joined your first band?

Thanks. :)
"It's all folk music... I ain't never heard no horse sing!"
- Attributed variously to Leadbelly and Louis Armstrong

If at first you don't succeed, you are obviously not Chuck Norris.

l337iZmz r@wk o.K!!!??>
# 1
Kevin Taylor
Guitar Tricks Instructor
Kevin Taylor
Guitar Tricks Instructor
04/08/2006 10:58 am
First band I ever tried out for I knew just a few basic open chords and one rhythm pattern. I thought I did good, but I found out later that they were laughing their butts off at me after I left.
Second band I tried out for, I only knew a few more chords and rhythm patterns and after hearing me they turned their backs on me and ignored me for the rest of the session.
Third band I tried out for just needed a bass player cause they were playing a gig at a hotel in town. I rented a bass and showed up but was so bad that somebody from the audience actually got up and replaced me. (still made $150 though :)
Next band was a country band and luckily the basic chords I knew were perfect cause I got hired & went on the road for a year. Hated every minute of it, but learned a whole lot about performance, playing in a band and having fun with groupies.