i need a few pointers on teaching guitar

DISCIPLEofMETAL
DISCIPLEofMETAL
01/16/2006 2:18 pm
Recently I rented a space to give guitar lessons for beginner and intermediate players. Im doing great and have gotten alot of students motivated into wanting to play more. I just feel personally I need to hone up on my teaching skills. If there is anyone that gives lessons and have some tips on what,and how to teach, i would appreciate the help.
Get rollin, or get rolled over!-diamond darrell
# 1
barnesjc
Full Access
barnesjc
Full Access
01/17/2006 1:49 pm
Hi!
I have been an instructor for about 15 or so years now. Getting started was tough. I knew how to play what I was playing....but explaining it to someone else is the tricky part. That just took time.
When teaching, remember that no two students are the same or have the same goals. Teach all styles and ask them for their input. Like.... don't teach metal licks to a "campfire" guitarist. Keep an open mind to all styles.
Stress the importance of doing things the right way and not the easy way. What is easy now, can make things tough down the road. Exercises are the most important things for beginners!!!
Now, when you teach chords....teach students the similarities between them. Like G5 , C2, and D. Pick a few songs with those chords and then build on them. Teach alternate fingerings for chords like A and E minor. What is easy for you might not be best for them.
Patients is a BIGGIE! Especially with kids...I don't teach under the age of 8. I have tried, but had little success. Their attention span is usually not very long. And don't be afraid to tell the parents that Jr. is not practicing. It is not worth their money and especilly not your time!!
I hope this helps. Feel free to email me if ya need me.
Practice makes Permanent!! Perfect practice make perfect....Me :cool:
# 2
Middknight
tattooed mesiah
Middknight
tattooed mesiah
02/15/2006 8:47 pm