making an amp from junk?

rockonn91
rockonn91
12/21/2005 8:15 pm
hey yall.

i have this old JVC RX-150 AM/FM tuner, and i was wondering if i could make a deacy amp sorta thing with it.

you know, queen's bassist (deacon) made brian may an amp out of a car's radio. how and what it was made of gave the amp that signature tone.

so i was looking at the wiring inside of this tuner. it looks all anolog- i can see two tubes in it, not sure what they're for. i could manipulate the audio in's in the back and put in a guitar input.

but the only problem is, once i take it apart, i dont really know where to start. im not a mechanical genious. and also, if i make this amp, i really want it to sound different. i dont want it to just sound all muddy or whatnot. so if yall have any ideas for experimenting with tones, that would be cool.

does anyone know where to find a wiring diagram for the deacy amp? ive been through pages of google. im thinking about using these wirings as sort of a guide.

anyways, any help with this project would be very much appreciated. :D
JK :cool:

-Agile Guitars Enthusiast
# 1
Lordathestrings
Gear Guru
Lordathestrings
Gear Guru
12/21/2005 11:36 pm
This is one of those things where, if you gotta ask, you probably shouldn't go there.

Unless that box has an audio power amp to drive speakers with, you're wasting your time.
Lordathestrings
Guitar Tricks Moderator

www.GuitarTricks.com - Home of Online Guitar Lessons
# 2
magicninja
Guitar Tricks Moderator
magicninja
Guitar Tricks Moderator
12/21/2005 11:41 pm
Originally Posted by: LordathestringsThis is one of those things where, if you gotta ask, you probably shouldn't go there.

Unless that box has an audio power amp to drive speakers with, you're wasting your time.

If it didn't could he make a pre-amp out of it?
Magicninja
Guitar Tricks Moderator

"If it feels right, play it. If it feels wrong, play it faster” - Magicninja
# 3
Lordathestrings
Gear Guru
Lordathestrings
Gear Guru
12/21/2005 11:49 pm