How do I jump into soloing?

SoulDistortion
SoulDistortion
11/16/2005 3:07 am
I've been playing for seven months now and my fingers are just getting fast enough to the point where i can start soloing slowly inside scales. I've been messing around in E pentonic and have tried to just improvise things and try and start soloing and I can keep a good pace for about 3 seconds but im slowed down when i have to decide whether to hammer on/pull off, or to just pluck the note normally. When i pluck the note it slows me down but i cant hammer on pull off on everything either. How do i know which to do?

With 2 different ways to play a note, how the heck am is supposed to choose one in a split second and just continue making those decitions throughout a solo??? :confused:

Can anyone offer me any help at all, anything would be greatly appreaciated.
---iiholly
My friend died rock climbing on Saturday. He was drunk though... and he didn't normally rock climb. [...] I'm not too good with death.
---6strngs_2hmbkrs
I hesitate to take a post from iiholly seriously...
---iiholly
Well, Mike dying is pretty serious to me. I couldn't have stopped it, I wasn't there.
---6strngs_2hmbkrs
sorry, ok, i thought it might have been a joke, I'm terribly sorry
---Akira
This thread has turned out well.
# 1
gogogo
gogogo
11/16/2005 3:21 am
Are we talking Improv or Tabbed music??
# 2
SoulDistortion
SoulDistortion
11/16/2005 6:24 am
Both actually, i was just saying when i was messing around i was improving. but soloing in general because in tabs it says when you need to hammer on/pull off.
---iiholly
My friend died rock climbing on Saturday. He was drunk though... and he didn't normally rock climb. [...] I'm not too good with death.
---6strngs_2hmbkrs
---iiholly
Well, Mike dying is pretty serious to me. I couldn't have stopped it, I wasn't there.
---6strngs_2hmbkrs
---Akira
# 3
METAL UP URS
METAL UP URS
11/16/2005 3:46 pm