Marshall amp

MadGuitarest
MadGuitarest
08/08/2005 5:47 pm
I own a Jcm 2000 Dsl 100 Marshall Tube amp, everytime I turn it up pass 2 it begins to lose high end and sound less piercing, like it totally changes tone with the loudness, because when it is 2 or lower you get a nice crunch high end presence piercing sound thats sounds great, but I turn it up louder it loses it. This is on Distortion BTW. Is there something wrong with my Marshall Head? And how do I know if the tubes or a tube needs to be changed? I have little knowledge with tube amps
Mike ;)
# 1
Raskolnikov
Guitar Tricks Moderator
Raskolnikov
Guitar Tricks Moderator
08/08/2005 6:15 pm
How do you have your EQ set?
Raskolnikov
Guitar Tricks Moderator

Careful what you wish for friend
I've been to Hell and now I'm back again

www.GuitarTricks.com - Home of Online Guitar Lessons
# 2
Dr_simon
Guitar Tricks Instructor
Dr_simon
Guitar Tricks Instructor
08/08/2005 6:50 pm
this is why:

http://www.webervst.com/fm.htm

basically your perception of pitch changes with loudness

the answer is to just readjust your EQ
My instructors page and www.studiotrax.net for all things recording.
my toons Brought to you by Dr BadGAS
# 3
aschleman
aschleman
08/08/2005 7:15 pm