acoustic or electric?

sirhc1210
sirhc1210
05/05/2001 4:02 am
I am a beginner (i mean i have barly ever picked a guitar up)!!!! I want to learn how to play the guitar but should i get a acoustic or electric guitar?
# 1
Rammstein2452
Rammstein2452
05/05/2001 5:08 am
get an acoustic, you won't put the electric to good use if you're a begginer. If you ignore me and buy an electric DONT buy a distortion pedal, you'll ruin learning the basics
Hello me, Meet the REAL me
# 2
BluesShredder
BluesShredder
05/05/2001 1:00 pm
I think you should buy an electric, as long as you can give a lot of money to buy a good one, electric is much easier to play, you can learn chords very easily and you bend, with acoustic will be very difficultto learn to how play,
but if you are willing to practise a lot and ignore the difficulties you should buy an acoustic, and you'll see after a few years playing an electric will be very easy,
what ever you do dont play with effects, play only with clean tone

Blues Shredder

Peter
# 3
Joseph
Joseph
05/06/2001 3:57 am
Well, when starting out its important to maintain a high level of enthusiasm, and its harder than one thinks to get an electric guitar to sound good in the first few months, (with proper muting and everything.) And although a lot of people tend to rely on distortion (to hide their failing technical abilities,), you should be sure to get in touch with the notes where you can differentiate the sound of one chord from another. Buy an acoustic guitar, learn the basics, and once you feel comfortable enough, take up the electric guitar, but remember good technique is important, because just about anyone can sound loud, but not everyone can sound really good.

-Joseph
www.ragmagazine.com
"Swoop and soar like the blues angels."
# 4
Lordathestrings
Gear Guru
Lordathestrings
Gear Guru
05/06/2001 10:54 am