Yeah, another "new guitar" oppinion post...

niccar113
niccar113
08/01/2005 1:22 pm
Ok sorry for wasting everybody who is looking at this's time, but I've been playing a squier for the past three years, and frankly, i'm getting sick of it. So the choices i'm looking at this year for my birthday and christmas presents combined are the Schecter C-1 Elite (love the HB-102's), Fender American Strat, or ESP ltd H-250 (also HB-102's). I play in a ska band, but that's about once or twice a week practice, and at home, i play anything from blues to metal. But what I love are shredding solos. Just playing a solo for an hour and a half straight and incorporating everything i've ever learned... sweep picking, pinched harmonics, rakes, etc... learning new stuff and putting it in solo form is my pasttime, what I do for fun. So thanks a whole lot to anybody who gives an oppinion.
Pleasure.
# 1
aschleman
aschleman
08/01/2005 2:24 pm
Hm... it depends on YOUR taste. I personally wouldn't get a C-1 Blackjack... I would get a C-1 Classic with the Seymour Duncan JB/59 set and killer inlay job. My buddy has one and it's good for everything from blues to metal. The ESP/LTD guitars are mainly metal guitars... they're not going to give you great tone for anything but hard rock and metal... you might be able to squeez tone out of it... As for the Strat... Obviously the best blues tool ever created and it has been used for metal... If you're in a ska band it wouldn't be bad at all. They get great tone and they have a wide spectrum of playability. It would be a toss up between the Strat and the Schecter C-1 Classic... The Classic will get more attention from the crowd than the Stratocaster... so I would say go with the C-1 Classic....

my two cents...
# 2
Raskolnikov
Guitar Tricks Moderator
Raskolnikov
Guitar Tricks Moderator
08/01/2005 3:39 pm
If I were you, I'd go with whatever guitar moved me more. It sounds to me like you really like the Schecter, so that's probably the way to go.