harmonics

rockonn91
rockonn91
07/13/2005 3:13 am
ok, im feeling stupid here (ive been playing for 6 years...)

but i just cant do harmonics. like, at all.

please explain how. and all the different kinds.

oh yes and while im here feeling stupid, how do you do a dive bomb?

(geez i can tap solos and junk like crazy but cant do simple things like this....im so ashamed haha)
JK :cool:

-Agile Guitars Enthusiast
# 1
ren
ren
07/13/2005 7:39 am
OK, Harmonics:

First, the theory here

You get a pinch harmonic by picking in such a way that the side of your thumb hits the string just after the pick - use your bridge pickup and as much gain as you can to start with. Vibrato brings the harmonic out a bit as well.

Natural Harmonics come from touching your finger on a string, right over the fretwire and picking - gets you a sound a bit like a bell ringing - experiment on different frets. It's easy to get these on the octave of whatever note you're playing.

Artificial Harmonics - like the above, but with the octave manipulated. Found a lesson on this site for that one: http://www.guitartricks.com/lesson.php?input=8232

And Dive Bombing is dumping your trem all the way down until the strings are slack.... I tend to do the odd pick slide / dive bomb move, but that's it...

Check out my music, video, lessons & backing tracks here![br]https://www.renhimself.com

# 2
J.Hammett
J.Hammett
07/14/2005 2:36 am