Fraying fingers

ninjandrew
ninjandrew
05/13/2005 7:48 am
Hello everyone.

So Ive been playing for seven months now. I first started the first few months with Ernie Ball Super Slinkys and had developed decent calluses on my finger tips. But soon, for no apparent reason, my calluses began to fray. I upgraded my strings a few guages, and that smoothened them out again. But once again, in time they began to fray again. Im now up to EB Power Slinkys, and my fingers to seem to fray, than smoothen out. Fray, than smoothen out.

So I have to ask. Is this normal for guitar players? Is there something I can do to stop this annoying fraying? I dont want one of my calluses getting torn, like what happened to my friend, resulting in him needing to painfully and time consumingly rebuild it. Please help me defeat the callus fray! Or to at least understand why its happening...
`Willing is not enough, we must do. Knowing is not enough, we must apply.`
-- Bruce Lee
# 1
Cryptic Excretions
Attorney at Law
Cryptic Excretions
Attorney at Law
05/13/2005 12:36 pm
Tearing fingers? I've never heard of such a thing. There must be something wrong with you. Ok, so I'm full of it. What with all the sliding, bending and slamming across rigid edged strings it seems only natural to me that your fingers would tear up. Mine do that all the time and I've never felt any form of actual pain that's prevented me from playing so I'm not worried about it and judging by what I've heard from everyone else I've talked to neither should you. If anything I'd say it's a good thing, it shows you that you're actually playing. You don't get calloused fingers by leaving your guitar in its bag all day.
The Gods Made Heavy Metal, And They Saw That It Was Good
They Said To Play It Louder Than Hell, We Promised That We Would

Hulk Smash!!

Whatever you do, don't eat limes. A friend of mine ate a lime once and BAM!! Two years later. Herpes.
# 2
aschleman
aschleman
05/13/2005 4:38 pm