confused about equip

Portis_26
Portis_26
05/12/2005 1:39 am
im new to the guitar and threre seems to be a lot of expensive gear that i have no clue what it does, is there a site that explains pedals, recording, drum machines and all that? also, i was just wondering, i havent really gotten the distortion i wanted from my stuff that i have, should i look at distortion pedals or are those just for amps that don't have distortion? or should i look to replace the pickups? i don't mind spending the money because i know im going to stick with it.
# 1
Tele Master
Full Access
Tele Master
Full Access
05/12/2005 1:45 am
Never say your going to stay with something. It always changes. In weeks you could go from one set-up to another. We can lead you in the right direction, but you need to find the sound your looking for. Chances are you will never find the exact same sound as a recording unless you get POD's or other expensive gear. You need to spend money to find what your looking for. You cannot be afraid to spend a bit of money, because remember you can always sell gear.
Electric Guitars are the inspiration for cries of "Turn that damn thing down"-Gibson website
# 2
elklandercc
Full Access
elklandercc
Full Access
05/12/2005 2:09 pm
Another effect you should get is a wah pedal. You can compress and decompress it with rythm or you can leave it at a specific location to get different tones. I have a cry baby wah pedal, it sounds pretty good for the $80 I spent for it.
"During this line, the kid acted like he was pushing buttons on a calculator in the air. The kid played ******* air-calculator!"

Myspace
# 3
Portis_26
Portis_26
05/13/2005 1:38 am
thanks for the advice. to answer a previous question i have an ibanez rg350dx with whatever pickups came with it (like INF something). the amp i have, voxad15vt, has built in effects, but i guess it would be better to get a multi-effects pedal because it will probably be higher quality and ill be able to do more with the effects.
# 4