Do u guys think a solo career is stupid? RESPOND PLZ

Mr. Vai
Mr. Vai
04/04/2001 3:01 am
Guys im 15 years old and am allready in search for a career in guitar, I have been a good faithful guitarist for almost 3 years now and I like to explore all differnt kinds of guitar music, Like maybe one day ill be like "Oh ya this Eric Clapton song rocks (Cocaine or layla or somthing) then the next day ill be like "Oh man this heavy metal is f*kin sweet! So u see the slide from Clapton>metallica/heavy metal and its so ahrd to find someone that plays bass/drums, and besides that, ahve them like the same music as you do, but I have jsut come to the conclusion, be a solo artist, but...u dont see too many one man artists out there that are famous..
My guitar is like an umbillical cord, its wired into my head.
# 1
Christoph
is Super Fabulous
Christoph
is Super Fabulous
04/04/2001 4:04 am
I don't see any problem with being a solo artist, in the sense that you would write all the music and that it would be your name on the CD, but if you ever plan to play a concert it would help to have a band.

Guys like Satriani and Vai are basically solo artists, but they have bands. SRV had Double Trouble. So in that repect, I don't understand what you mean by being a solo artist. By a solo artist do you just mean one guy playing guitar and singing by himself?

If so, then you're right . . . I don't see too many of those guys out there.
# 2
Bardsley
Bardsley
04/04/2001 12:39 pm
I know exactly where you are coming form, being in a similar situation (or at least I think I do).