Bass Guitar

Criblo
Criblo
02/17/2005 7:52 am
As you all know, I've only been playing for a couple of week. and still am not very good, and still learning the music....well I started learning to play the guitar to eventually get into learning the bass guitar. Bass guitarists always amaze me at shows, and that's what I eventually want to learn to play. I found a bass guitar I want to buy. Click here to see the Bass

Well Do you think it's too early for me to even bother buying a bass? I really liked the look, of this one and it seemed to have good reviews. I want to continue learning the 6 string, but would it be too difficult to mess with two instruments, and learn the basics for both?

OTher question, do you think this guitar I linked to is a good bass to get? I want something under $300. If not this one, then what do you recommend?
# 1
MFerguson
MFerguson
02/17/2005 1:13 pm
Whoa, Dude-Slow down-
Playing the bass versus playing the Guitar is about the same as driving a mini van versus driving a mustang. The principles are the same, but the techniques are different and the results are totally different.
I play the guitar, my wife plays the bass. I play her bass like a lead guitarist, my wife hates playing chords on the guitar and loves the bass because of that.
Bass players are part of the foundation of the band, the guitar is the glitz.
We say the bass and drums are the cake, the guitars are the frosting.

Playing bass requires more knowledge of music. You have to know your notes, 3rds, 5ths, and 8ths from the root of the chord. You must have a sence of rhythm. You help keep time for the other musicians. There are very few tabs for bass, as each player has his/her own take on what to play and when to play it. Lessons and teachers are highly recommended.

In my opinion, bassists are bassists and guitarists are guitarists.