View post (speed picking techniques...HELP!!!!)

View thread

Pantallica1
Insert witty remark here
Pantallica1
Insert witty remark here
01/06/2005 11:57 pm
Originally Posted by: raymond jamesI've been playing guitar for over 15 years. Professionally for the last 6 in a metal band doing alot of covers and a ton of songs that I've written. I have played hugh places, small places, television shows, international fests, and so on, I am also a guitar teacher. So I feel pretty stupid for asking this, but, this has has pissed me off for over a decade.

When I'm doing rythm work, my right hand is extremely fast. When I do solo work, my left hand dominates and my right hand won't sync up. My lead work is very smooth (due to a lack of picking) and the speed I what is there, but I want that machine gun picking power on comand. I want the pentonic fire like Zakk and Dimebag.

Now before you give me a bunch of picking drills and exercises. I've been doing that for years. ( sweep picking and alternating) I have burned hours away drilling myself but my picking speed never seems to incease. I have tryed everything, am I missing something? I'm a really good player, even a local guitar hero. (dare I say...ha ha) I think my technique is good, heavy pick, light touch. I take my time and try to build picking speed using a metrodome. Everyone seems to have figured it out, but me. Is there any secrets,like a quick fix to the right road.

Recording of my bands first album is starting within weeks. I would really like to use this technique on the album, I'm known as a crazy lead player, but I don't want to limit myself in hammer-on hell. Please can anyone help? And please don't think I'm an idoit. Thankx

I know you said not to say it, but it takes practice. I am by no means a speed demon, but I can get going pretty good at times.