Matt ‘Guitar’ Murphy

hunter60
Humble student
hunter60
Humble student
01/25/2012 11:58 pm

Matt ‘Guitar’ Murphy
By Hunter60

I’m still learning man. But there ain’t nothing you can do when you’re dead, you know? All that means is – you keep living and you’re gonna get older, and one day you’re gonna be old. So, hang on and you will learn …
Matt ‘Guitar’ Murphy

There’s something about Matt ‘Guitar’ Murphy; something beyond his spectacular guitar playing. Catch him on stage and you’re going to see a blues player who is having as much fun as his audience. He proffers a wide smile and you can’t help but notice the glint of pure joy in his eyes peering out from underneath his baseball cap. Despite the fact that he’s built like a bull, there’s a distinctive soft touch when needed on his fretwork.
Not sure who Matt ‘Guitar’ Murphy is? Well, if you’ve seen the Blues Brothers movies, you’ve seen and heard him. If you’ve listened to Muddy Waters and Bobby ‘Blues’ Bland’s Chess recordings, you’ve heard him. Perhaps maybe you’ve caught some of his guitar work on the recordings of Memphis Slim, James Cotton and Chuck Berry. And then, of course, there’s his solo work.
Matt ‘Guitar’ Murphy has had a long career as an incredible blues guitarist and may very well be one of the best players of the genre you may not recognize immediately.