Should i endlessly practice chords/exercises/scale

acharlesmiller96
acharlesmiller96
02/18/2018 6:08 am

So i started learning yestarday.. I played for around 2 hours yestarday and 4 today. I've always wanted to learn guitar, but it always seemed so daunting and demovitated me to begin. I decided to give it a try, cause why not?, and after only watching videos for a bit i realized its not nearly as challenging to learn, and pick up, as i thought it was. (I was watching the very beggining of L&M Guitar with Steve Krenz.) But my question is... Is it more efficient to just do chords, exercises, and scales, for a while? If there's anything that playing countless hours of runescape has taught me... It is how to do tedious, and reptitive tasks for a long time. But is it more efficient? Or should i be practicing songs, and melodies? Thanks to anyone who can help.

# 1
chrispike306
chrispike306
02/18/2018 7:23 am

From what i've gathered, 8 months in, a lot of it is just repeating stuff until you can do it.

Try new stuff, then do the old stuff again.

i've tried to learn a song or two as well, just to keep it interesting. I guess thats the key, keeping it interesting.

If it seems like a slog, or hard work, you won't want to do it. If you are looking forward to it, you'll practice more and do better. Gotta find the balance that works for you!

# 2
thomas.mogensen
thomas.mogensen
02/23/2018 7:42 am

I started the course about two moths ago. Although I definetely make progress, I am quite far from reallye smooth chord changes. To chear myself up a and stay motivated I have a couple of easy tabs I work with. E.g. Ode to Joy on the beginner course or the Star spangled banner, which you will find on the site. This way I make some sounds, that actually sounds like real music.