Whimpy Fingers

Richardmcwhorter
Richardmcwhorter
07/30/2017 5:01 am

Hello Everyone

I'm new to playing the guitar so I'm wondering if anyone has some tricks to toughen up the ol' fingertips. My fingertips are killing me.

Thanks for any advice.

# 1
Medalleon
Medalleon
07/30/2017 10:00 am

I wouldn't mind some tips too... I only practiced 40 minutes the first day and 20 minutes the second day, now I have blisters on my index finger tip! That's just embarrassingly wimpy

# 2
wolfsmg
wolfsmg
07/30/2017 7:27 pm

Best Tip/Trick: Practice. You don't always have to strum or pick, you can just fret notes on the neck. It will take a while (depends on the person) to develop your fingertips.

Worst Tip/Trick: Summer of '69. Do NOT play until your fingers bleed. Scar tissue isn't the same as calluses.

If you develop a blister, let it pop, then keep practicing. Ther's no need to reshape the skin to remove the small divot. Practicing will usually wear your fingertip back to a normal shape.

Take it slowly at first with short practice sessions. You'll be able to increase your session length as your fingers toughen up. If you do have the desire to practice, but your fingers hurt a bit, take some time to watch some videos/read about the other important aspects of being a guitarist:

Posture. Just sit with your guitar in your playing position and work on staying upright. If you notice that you're getting some wrist pain after playing (a little is natural since you're holding your hand at an odd angle), work on finding a neck angle that works for you. (I tend to play with the neck "crossing" about mid-bicep since it's comfortable for me.)

Guitar Care

String Changing

Set-Up and Intonation: It's cheaper to do it yourself, since most places will charge you a price equal to a couple packages of strings. (I'd rather have spare strings than spend money on something that's easy to learn.)

Music Theory (it's never too soon to start)