Guitar Setup?

willsbob10265
willsbob10265
05/19/2020 2:05 pm

Hello! As a newbie I am not familiar with a lot of technical aspects of a guitar. I have been told that I should have my guitar ( it is an electric guitar given to me) set up by a professional. What does that mean and is it necessary at this stage of my learning? How will it help ?

Thanks

# 1
markbarnes4
markbarnes4
05/19/2020 6:08 pm

im also a newbie to guitar, and i just bought an acoustic from richards guitar in the uk.

every guitar he sells goes through a professional set up before it leaves his store.. have a look at this video from his website, and it shows a professional set up

https://youtu.be/oGtr1b-Gvqw

# 2
jrpierce06420
jrpierce06420
05/20/2020 1:50 pm

If it has never been done on your guitar, I would say yes, especially for a newbie. I had it done and the guitar was much easier for me to play afterward. In my case, they were able to lower the action quite a bit, so I didn't have to push down so hard and far in the first couple of frets. They also adjusted the relief on the neck and lowered a couple of frets that were too high, reducing fret buzz. Another thing they should do is adjust intonation, which will ensure that when you tune your guitar, each string will be in tune all the way along the fretboard, not just when you play open strings.

Whether it makes a big difference for you depends on the current condition of your guitar. It is not clear to me whether you were given a used guitar or someone bought you a new one. In either case, it may have already been done. Many (but certainly not all) shops will do it as part of the sale. In the case of used, the former owner may have had it done.

Mine was a special case, as it was built by an inexperienced amateur, so it needed lots of tweaking.

# 3
matonanjin2
matonanjin2
05/20/2020 2:46 pm

^^^