Hello

tb.williams
tb.williams
05/10/2018 4:05 am

Hi, my name is Tom and I'm just getting started on my guitar journey. I am 65 and about to retire in June. My wife asked me what I was going to do with my time and I told her I have always wanted to learn to play the guitar...better late than never! I have a Yamaha FG820L...yes I'm left handed. Beautiful guitar and I hope someday to make beautiful sounds with it. Just started Lisa's beginning lessons this week. It's going to take awhile to get my fingers to stretch to the right fret positions, I feel rather clumsy right now! Looking forward to learning from the instructors and fellow forum members.

# 1
Meridirh
Full Access
Meridirh
Full Access
05/10/2018 6:23 am
Originally Posted by: tb.williams

Hi, my name is Tom and I'm just getting started on my guitar journey. I am 65 and about to retire in June. My wife asked me what I was going to do with my time and I told her I have always wanted to learn to play the guitar...better late than never! I have a Yamaha FG820L...yes I'm left handed. Beautiful guitar and I hope someday to make beautiful sounds with it. Just started Lisa's beginning lessons this week. It's going to take awhile to get my fingers to stretch to the right fret positions, I feel rather clumsy right now! Looking forward to learning from the instructors and fellow forum members.

Hi Tom,

welcome to the club! :) I just googled your guitar. It's a pretty acoustic guitar. I'm sure it plays nicely.

May I ask you what kind of musical genres you are interested in?

Lisa's course is fantastic for beginners as she teachers everything you need to know to later start style modules. Many styles share the basic fundamentals that you are going to learn in GF1.

However, it is important to not rush these courses. Learning to play the guitar is a real body workout as your fingers need to work quite hard, but at the same time have to avoid any injuries that might result from excessive practicing.