Having trouble putting solos together.... (scale help)

johnbiggs
johnbiggs
12/31/2002 6:15 am
I play heavy metal. I am pretty new at playing lead. I am having trouble making "interesting" leads and solos. If someone were to play a 3 power chord rhythm, and i had to solo over it.....i would jsut wank around on 3 finger increments as fast I can around 12th fret and higher. I dont understand how things fit with scales. Do you take all the notes possible in an entire pentetonic scale and try to peice them together to get something sounding good or what? is there a way i can create a good rhythm, and then by knowing the key the rhythm is in, i can play the corresponding scale/notes?? I DONT KNOW HOW IT WORKS!!!!!!

any help would be fantastic guys, thanks
# 1
noticingthemistake
Crime Fighter
noticingthemistake
Crime Fighter
12/31/2002 4:04 pm
Although, there is no perfect way to tell someone how to play more interesting leads and solo's. You have to build on it by practicing. I can tell you most metal solo's are based around Modes. Modes are made from taking a scale, say a major scale, and instead of starting on the root, say starting on the 5th interval in the scale. Which is a Mixolydian mode, great for soloing over V7 chords. Its not just limited to a couple of notes in a scale, all scales and each note of a scale is a mode. Search though this site, you will find countless threads about this.

You must know the chord progression, which your soloing over. That way you can pick the correct scale to play over it. Most solo's sound lame cause they're using the same scale thoughout the solo, you have to mix it up to make it sound more interesting. Giving it a sense of flow, and movement rather than being stagnate.