Idea

basics
basics
04/23/2004 4:21 pm
Do to the fact that recently I had to practice up some cover tunes for a gig this weekend (which is going to suck for reasons I won't divulge) I came up with what I think is a decent idea for guitarists of all levels.

I'm a good guitarist and what this gig made me realize was that it's always important to branch out in styles in which you may not particularily always partake in. Just the little stuff in some of the tunes that you may not have listened to or analysed deeply before.

What I purpose is a poll taken every week of 5 songs that somebody's picked out (it could rotate person to person or whatever, take turns etc). Everybody votes on a tune, and then at the end of the week the top 3 tunes from the poll gets learned by everybody who wants to throughout the next week and the rest of the thread is dedicated to any questions/comments etc throughout the learning process.

So really, all it is is a method of expanding your repitoire and to experience some techniques you may or may not have had looked at previously.

While in one thread people are talking about the 3 tunes that everybody's learning throughout the week, another has been started with the poll deciding what's to be learned the next week.

Thread examples

Learn that Tune - Week 1
or
Cover Constipation - Week 1 etc.
# 1
basics
basics
04/23/2004 4:23 pm
Can close the poll after a week too, which is cool.
# 2
spanky10940
spanky10940
04/23/2004 5:13 pm
Basics.. that's an awesome idea!!!!

funny you should post something like that now, I just did my first open mic last night. I've played in front of people before but never mic'd or anything.. it's usually just for friends to amuse myself. I learned last night about all the things I DON'T know and how I'd really like to expand my "song list"

great idea!!!!

so - the question now is.. who else likes this and under which topic does it go?