Practicing and How Often?

drivingburnt
drivingburnt
04/11/2004 11:54 pm
I'm a fairly new rookie at this and have been asking everyone what they practice and how often. The replies have been quite broad so I'm kinda looking for a general rule of thumb. I've been doing alot of scales and chords and then some easy songs but would this be good to do on a daily basis or would three or four times a week be a better target to aim for? I've had people tell me that they practice for hours each day but I don't have that kind of time to devote to my practicing and because I still am a real rookie I get frustrated because I feel like I'm not progressing like I should. Any advice would be appreciated.:D
[FONT=Comic Sans MS]Got To Love Those Shredding Grannies[/FONT]
# 1
iiholly
hmm
iiholly
hmm
04/12/2004 12:38 am
You should practice everyday, because if you don't practice everyday you don't develop nerves in your hands as well.

# 2
ketsueki15
ketsueki15
04/12/2004 1:22 am
there is no set rule on how much or how long you should practice..Practice with in you confortable area...If it starts to get unconfortable then take a break...Dont worry your self if you dont get to practice one day..not everyone has all day to practice.
Another thing.....learn to READ music...its much better than tab
One more thing...Guitar takes alot of time and effort...it took me 1 year and somtihng before i was happy with what i was doing...seemed like forever before i started progressing
In memory of Randy Rhoads
# 3
basics
basics
04/12/2004 3:31 am