3 year anniversary

Leedogg
Grizzled Veteran
Leedogg
Grizzled Veteran
03/24/2004 5:32 am
What's up guys? I'm currently on spring break from college and I'm spending it in beautiful, snowy Ohio ;) . This week also marks the 3 year anniversary of when I started playing what brings us all here: the guitar. Back when I started, I knew that it would take years and years of playing before I was at the level of skill I wanted to be at. Although I still feel like a beginner, much progress has been made. Returning to my acknowledgement that it would take years of practice to be great I had an idea 2 years ago when I was at the 1 year mark: make a video. I have this VHS tape that is a work in progress. Each year during this 3rd week of March I borrow my Dad's camcorder and record myself jammin out for about a half an hour. The past two years I've pretty much just played everything I knew, this year; however, I'd like it to be a little more structured. What should I do? What are some things, that easily come to mind, that I will be working on for years technique-wise? I'm a complete newb when it comes to sweep picking so I definately plan on working on that throughout this upcoming year. Does my documentation of my progress seem anal or pragmatic to you guys :D? Do any of you have a similar ritual?
Blues is easy to play, but hard to feel.
My YouTube Profile
# 1
basics
basics
03/24/2004 11:58 am
I have no anual recording of my playing, however I do have periodic recordings that I've lost and would probably be interesting to find out how I sounded. Couple demo cds that I've made every so often with different ideas I've come up with in case I ever find myself in a worthy band. Your idea sounds like a good one, however, I don't think, for me personally, it would be of much benifit besides sentimental.
# 2
Death55
Death55
03/24/2004 10:33 pm