Making midis

Cryptic Excretions
Attorney at Law
Cryptic Excretions
Attorney at Law
02/01/2004 1:04 am
Hey, I'm a newbie to a good sum of things in the music world. I've seen a great number of songs turned into midis. Now, whether it's video game music or a song by a band or whatever it seems to have ended up in a midi format via someone's efforts. My question is how is that done? What process is it that turns a song into a midi? Is there a program that converts the songs into midi or what?
The Gods Made Heavy Metal, And They Saw That It Was Good
They Said To Play It Louder Than Hell, We Promised That We Would

Hulk Smash!!

Whatever you do, don't eat limes. A friend of mine ate a lime once and BAM!! Two years later. Herpes.
# 1
I Suffer
I Suffer
02/01/2004 1:58 am
The only way i know of doing it ( im a computer noob), is using a program like : Guitarpro, or Powertab. You have to tab out the song parts, then export it as a midi file. you go to file- export- midi. And you save it on your hard drive. There are probably other programs, but i dont know of them.
# 2
Cryptic Excretions
Attorney at Law
Cryptic Excretions
Attorney at Law
02/01/2004 2:02 am
Ok, thanks. I'll give that a try. Do I have to already know how the song is played or is there some way around that?

Hulk Smash!!

Whatever you do, don't eat limes. A friend of mine ate a lime once and BAM!! Two years later. Herpes.
# 3
The Ace
Guitar Tricks Instructor
The Ace
Guitar Tricks Instructor
02/01/2004 2:04 am
Ya and then There's all the midi studios.... made for your computer like by magix or microsoft....
As far as I know... They are all done by hand tabbing out the notes (in tab or sheet music) by people who know a lot about music, and who have way too much time on their hands. But their could be companies or sites that just do that.....

There are only two important things in life - There's music and theres girls, not necessarily in that order....
The Ace's Guitar Tricks
# 4
I Suffer
I Suffer