Recoring Guitar

Superfly
Superfly
09/11/2003 12:12 am

I've tried everything and have failed to achieve a killer metal/hardcore rock guitar sound when recording. I'm using the right mics (Shure), I have the right amp (Hiwatt Custom 100) and the right Guitar (PRS Custom 22). I have a crap load of songs to record but don't wanna waste my time if I don't have the right sound. I use a boss metal zone or Blues driver for overdrive and it sounds great live . . . really great but when I go to record it either direct into the Roland VS 2480 or mic it it sounds horrible. It sounds like it's being played out of an am radio just fuzz and no grind. Now I know you may be secretive when talking about your set up but help a brother out. Could someone explain step by step how to record directly into a recording unit and achieve a respectable sound. Anything will help.

Thanks
# 1
SPL
SPL
09/11/2003 12:51 am
I'm not very good at giving detailed advice about how to achieve a good sound, but I will give you something to think about:
"A guitar sound that works well in live situations usually is not what works in the studio."
In other words, experiment with amp settings, effects(if any) settings, mic placements and mic pre-amp settings,... Do all of this while focusing on your RECORDED, not the sound actually coming out of the cabinet which is probably what you are most used to as a guitarist. If you're doing this on your own, without having your amp in a seperate soundproof booth, this can be a time-consuming but very educational thing to do.

Experimentation is the key word here.