Alternate picking help

Autark
Autark
08/04/2003 9:25 am
My goal is to pick 16-notes on 240b.p.m.

Currently I pick 16-notes at 70b.p.m. (I started playing the guitar a few months ago...)

So, I nailed them at 70, what now??? Should I continue to play slow, or speed up, o combine this (HOW???)

Also, after about 20 sec. of picking, my pick slips from my hand... What should I do???

THANKS!
# 1
ketsueki15
ketsueki15
08/04/2003 2:22 pm
practice practice practice and yet more practice..keep up what you doin and make sure its clean..spped comes with time..it doesnt happen over night so keep practicing that and change stuff around..playin that one lik all the time will ecome boring..as for te pick slipping..it used to happen to..try holdin it diff or tighter maybe some powder for grip..you will get the hang of holidn the pick after awhile
In memory of Randy Rhoads
# 2
PersevereTheMetal
PersevereTheMetal
08/04/2003 6:13 pm
So you nailed them at 70. kick it up to 72. than 74. Do it slowly. Don't do like 70; perfect it than jump to 9. that won't work. Like Ketsukei said, Speed comes with time. Also play it with a clean tone. Distortion can really mask the mistakes you are making. Good luck.
A condemning fear strikes down, Things they cannot understand..An exscuse to cover up weaknesses that lie within.
# 3
LordLuzifer
LordLuzifer
08/04/2003 9:43 pm
i have a very light picking from my acoustic days, and i never hold the pick tightly, with that i never had a pick slipping problem, so try that... tight grip of the pick and hard picking may easily lead to your problem, also try different grips of the pick, i have mine layed on the side of the pointing finger, and the thumb holds it from above. the pointing finger is diagonal to the point of the pick.