Stuck in a rut

sboult
sboult
08/28/2022 12:29 am

I have subscribed to GT for two years. I have been feeling really stuck as of late. I have done the guitar tree 1 & 2, and acoustic 1. I feel confident knowing my chords but am having difficulty playing songs and keeping rhythm.I really want to incorporate fingerpicking into songs, I have watched the lessons but don't know how to incorporate it into songs?

I have been playing for almost 10 years and feel like I am at such a plateau and am loosing interest in playing. Any thoughts or suggestions?

Take care,

Scott

# 1
phbulfin
phbulfin
08/28/2022 1:48 am

Hi,

I have been in a similar situation so one thing I did to get myself out was find people to jam with. A good way to do this is go to open mic nights in your area or start one. I have managed to get a gig so this has forced me to go over my techniques and learn songs.

Cheers

# 2
ChristopherSchlegel
Guitar Tricks Instructor
ChristopherSchlegel
Guitar Tricks Instructor
08/28/2022 3:35 pm

Originally Posted by: sboultI feel confident knowing my chords but am having difficulty playing songs and keeping rhythm.[/quote]

What songs are you trying to play? It sounds like you need to focus on being able to change chords in time with music. Knowing chord shapes & being able to play through a series of chord changes in time with music are definitely 2 different things.

If you are working on a specific song & having trouble with it, then break the task into managable chunks focusing on the separate skills required.