That darn open C chord

djrolo
djrolo
07/02/2022 1:09 am

Hey All,

I've been playing accoustic guitar about 5 months now. Going through the Fundamentals with Anders M.

I've been practicing the open C chord for a couple months now. I practice about 5 hours a week...so, almost daily.

I'm frustrated that I just can't seem to get that open C chord. My three fingers just don't want to work together.

I seem to be able to do the A and D strings just fine, but when I add B string on the first fret, it changes the position of the other two fingers, so that now I'm muting strings...but only when I add the B string. When I go in reverse...B, then D and then A, I can't seem to strech my middle finger all the way to A.

I've been practicing this for moths now and am just not moving forward to chord combinations (ie: Open C and Open D)...and I'm just not moving forward.

I've looked at a bunch of sites for tips and tricks (fingers behind the fret, elbow in, neck high, etc.) but nothing seems to work and now I'm stuck.

Any cheats, tips or tricks? Or just more practice?

Thanks!

# 1
Drake the Red
Full Access
Drake the Red
Full Access
07/02/2022 10:20 am

Hey DJ,

Practice, practice, practice. And maybe try isolating your your fingers, one by one. Meaning, first concentrate on correct index finger placement when strumming, keep it there then add your middle, strum them together then eventually add the final ring finger.

Try not to rush. No shame in taking it slowly. And remember, this isn't just resource for online learning. It's also a library of past tutorials. Look up Lisa McCormick's spider finger exercise to strengthen hand dexterity. That's how I see this website.

I hope this makes enough sense and helps you out of your rut.

Kind regards, Drake.

P.S. no disrespect to Anders or any other instructor, as I've recommended another tutorial. Guitar Tricks is outstanding. I love it here.