Rush - Working Man - string question

William MG
Full Access
William MG
Full Access
09/15/2021 11:45 pm

Hi Mike,

just started the intro to Working Man and am really enjoying it! When you do those unison bends they sure look a whole lot easier for you than for me. I am using 9 gauge strings.

Do you make it look so easy because you just can or are you using lighter gauge strings on your Ibanez?

Thanks for the tutorial Mike!

William

This year the diet is definitely gonna stick!

# 1
Mike Olekshy
Guitar Tricks Instructor
Mike Olekshy
Guitar Tricks Instructor
09/16/2021 1:03 pm

Hey William! So glad you're digging the lesson - I had a blast teaching that one!

The strings I'm using on the Ibanez are a bit heavier - 10-46 gauge. Unison bending is an important technique in rock music, so I suppose I'm making it look easy because I've been playing them for several decades now haha!

The key is to practice the technique every day if possible, with lots of repetition to build the strength in your fingers as well as the muscle memory. Practice up the neck at first to make it a bit easier, and focus on getting those bends in tune. With unison bending, you usually are bending using the ring or pinky - so that leaves you the middle finger to help push the string up with more strength and control.

Hope this helps! Let me know how it goes!

Mike

Originally Posted by: William MG

Hi Mike,

just started the intro to Working Man and am really enjoying it! When you do those unison bends they sure look a whole lot easier for you than for me. I am using 9 gauge strings.

Do you make it look so easy because you just can or are you using lighter gauge strings on your Ibanez?

Thanks for the tutorial Mike!

William

Keep rockin!
Mike Olekshy
GT Guitar Coach

# 2
William MG
Full Access
William MG
Full Access
09/16/2021 2:44 pm

It does Mike, thanks.

10! Damm!! lol

# 3
mjgodin
mjgodin
09/16/2021 9:32 pm