Fretting notes?

Sore.fingers
Sore.fingers
08/28/2021 7:04 am

Hello, I'm still a beginner and I'm working on GF1. Until now I'm fretting notes as perpendicular as possible, in order to have clear tones on the adjacent strings. For chords, I imagine that this is the best practice. However, when playing melodies, I wonder if it isn't better to fret notes at an angle all the time. I do this occasionally to mute adjacent strings, to stop notes from ringing out, as explained in 'Tame your melody tone'... but is this better? Should I only play with angled fingers if I want to mute an adjacent string and perpendicular if I don't need need to mute adjacent strings?

Thank you in advance,

Jan (a.k.a. Sore Fingers)

# 1
DraconusJLM
DraconusJLM
08/28/2021 9:05 am

Either is 'better' depending on what you want to achieve.

If you want adjacent strings to sound, such as when strumming chords, you need to keep your fingers from touching them. At other times, such as when playing single note melodies, you may find muting adjacent strings by letting your fingers touch them beneficial.

There's a mini course on here that covers the subject of string muting, and it also gets a mention in many courses.

I wish this forum had a "block user" feature. Possibly I'm not the only one......

# 2
ChristopherSchlegel
Guitar Tricks Instructor
ChristopherSchlegel
Guitar Tricks Instructor
08/28/2021 2:20 pm
Originally Posted by: Sore.fingersHowever, when playing melodies, I wonder if it isn't better to fret notes at an angle all the time.[/quote]

The general principle is to use the most natural & efficient finge placement & motion to play any series of notes & chords. That can be a different angles depending on the musical passage. But to be clear it is just the tip of of your finger (last knuckle joint to finger pad) that really needs most often to be more perpendicular.