View post (Adjusting from concert to dread)

View thread

mjgodin
mjgodin
08/14/2021 4:35 pm

Congrats on the Dread Susan.

You will get a bolder and fuller sound due to the bigger body, however as you discovered the disadvantage of playing a dread. They're a lot of instrument to handle. I'm 5-9 with I'd say average size hands and I would probably have a hard time getting used to one cause I play sitting mostly. My Breedlove is a concert and my next acoustic I'll probably go to a mini or parlour. Standing up as you stated is probably the preffered method with something that big.

I don't know any specific exercises other than probably take a few minutes to do some spider leg warmups before jumping into something. I drive trucks for a living and throughout the day I might be in two or three different ones including my own vehicle and I remember my instructor telling me you should always take a minute to get your mind into the vehicle your driving before you take off. Think about the different subtlies, characteristics and size of each one and let your body make it's adjustments. A few warmups and some scales should get your fingers to adjust to the different size neck and fingerboard. You might find you'll need to stretch a bit more on certain chords though.